art news for art lovers!

What happened to the necktie?

You know, the other night, when I was watching the Apprentice, which I totally love, by the way… One of the male contestants entered the boardroom sans necktie, and it was glaringly obvious how out of place he looked. There in the room with the Don, all the men were wearing smart ties with finely tailored suits, and this goofball comes in wearing a tan suit, white shirt, and a white crewneck t, screaming ‘hey I don’t care” at the boardroom table. Now don’t get me wrong, as a professional creative myself, I almost never wear a tie, but when the time is right, I know when to cinch on the silk noose! In fact, in my younger days, I used to wear a tie all the time, as a matter of style, I loved it. But things have changed. At first I was happy people were chilling out on what was considered business wear, but now I am feeling conflicted. There is something just so classy about a tie. It says, ‘I’m a gentleman, and I care about how I look and what image I project.” It says “I like my martini’s straight up, and women are treated with respect”. But here’s the rub…

Now that we have all freed ourselves of the tie, it might be dying away. The tie’s situation has become so dire that the American Dress Furnishings Association — the trade group that represents the tie business — announced it was shutting down.

“You’ve got to make what people want. America has changed to be a casual place,” said Joseph Abboud CEO Marty Staff, who was a member of the American Dress Furnishings Association.

When the tie makers go away, so do all the great styles! Soon when I actually want to go out and get a tie, all that will be left are lame looking ties designed for the uniform looking crowd. I don’t think wearing a geek squad necktie is going to portray that same image..? That being said, I think I am going on a crusade to bring back the necktie. When I am out for the evening, I am wearing a tie! When I am having a dinner on the town with my wife, I am wearing a tie! When I am drinking martinis, I am wearing a tie! Who will join me?

4 responses

  1. nice share,,,

    thank’s for the sharing…

    excellent blog,,see you…

    29/09/2010 at 12:26 am

  2. This is the top read that I have read this year.

    03/10/2010 at 8:24 am

  3. Gwen FAIL..

    Sondra

    03/10/2010 at 11:46 pm

  4. I’m late to the party. I wear a tie five or six days a week. Why? Because I actually enjoy it. Hope you do too.

    15/12/2010 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

