art news for art lovers!

The Fox 8 Appearance with Kenny Crumpton

 

Well, if you follow me on twitter (toddvo) you have probably heard all about it, but I thought I would add a post here on my blog about it too! Last Friday I made another guest appearance on the Fox 8 Morning Show. (I think that is like my 12th appearance in the last few years!) This was another opening day celebration. This time I thought I would try something completely different! 

When I was a kid I always liked those sports paintings by Leroy Neiman. Somewhat abstract, and yet very cool portraits. And, of course, lots of color, you know me! So, I thought I would try to create something like that, but in my style. I decided to paint our new Cy Young winner Cliff Lee, in my new sports portrait style. Again, I had never done this before, and of course I decided to experiment on live television! But, it worked! It really came out like I saw it in my head! AND, everybody seemed to really like it as well! Here is a picture of it.

 

Cliff Lee Cy Young winner for the Cleveland Indians

Cliff Lee Cy Young winner for the Cleveland Indians

 

 

With this one already sold, I thought I might try a few more and see if they work out as well. 

Stay tuned to my website to see the next sports portraits by todd!

Leave a Reply

