art news for art lovers!

My student with her very FIRST abstract painting ever!

In the last couple of months, I started giving private lessons in my Cuyahoga Falls studio. This is a picture of Amy with her very first abstract painting, EVER! It was such a fun process. From the beginning, Amy was very tentative about the process, and what was going on as we progressed. During the process she got to use tools and techniques that she has never used before. It was so funny, because I had to keep telling her… trust me, just go with the flow, the canvas is going to help you find the painting in there. Once she started to let go and just play with the paint she stated to loosen up, and say how relaxing it is, and how fun it was to watch what was happening on the canvas right in front of her face.

That’s kind of how I approach my teaching. I don’t teach you to paint a picture of a lemon, or something. I guide you to find your own artistic voice. I will show you techniques, and let you use new materials. But, in the end, you create your own work. I will offer you some color suggestions, and help with some composition and technique, however, my main goal is to help you gain the confidence you need to just go for it!

I also teach a very cool young lady named Madison, and just last week she said, “This is so cool! Why don’t they teach you this stuff in school?” That’s the thing about private lessons. School art programs aren’t really structured to allow for this kind of learning as they have to create a program that is designed for large groups using a standardized cirriculum. Also, they just don’t have the funding to buy the kinds of materials that I can buy.

So, if you, or somebody you know is interested in taking lessons from me, contact me for details and pricing.

 

Amy with her first abstract painting

Amy with her first abstract painting

Talk to you soon!

todd

2 responses

  1. Rob

    Wow…great story and great results. Amy must have made you glow. Keep up the good work.

    24/02/2009 at 3:28 pm

  2. Kathie Allen

    Aim!

    Now I know why you’ve been so out of touch! This is so cool and I am so proud you’re FINALLY realizing your talent!

    – Kathie

    03/03/2009 at 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

