art news for art lovers!

Oh NO! facebook is allowed to ‘steal’ my art!

Okay, so there is all this hype going around because facebook changed there terms of service and it says something like:

“You hereby grant Facebook an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to (a) use, copy, publish, stream, store, retain publicly perform or display, transmit, scan, reformat, modify, edit, frame, translate, excerpt, adapt, create derivative works and distribute (through multiple tiers), any User Content you (i) Post on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof subject only to your privac settings or (ii) enable a user to Post, including by offering a Share Link on your website and (b) to use your name, likeness and image for any purpose, including commercial or advertising, each of (a) and (b) on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof.” blah, blah, blah..

At first it all sound all kinda scary, big corporation, ripping off the little guy, but, look at some of the facts…

 

First of all facebook has something like 170 MILLION users. And lets just say that everybody, on average, posted 20 pictures. That turns into like 3,400,000,000 That’s 3 and a half BILLION pictures. Now, the good folks at facebook are not going to take the time to go through 3 Billion images to steal your 20 pictures. They are also not going to start a gallery and sell prints of your pictures, its just simply too far out there. I mean the average artist has a hard enough time selling the original paintings, how is facebook going to sell prints of every piece of art that is on their site? And, lets face it, most of the art on the site, is not going to sell anyway. 

 

But, you may say “What if I become famous, and then they find my art and sell it?” Well, at that point, who cares? YOU’RE FAMOUS, you are probably doing just fine selling all the other art you didn’t post on facebook, right. I mean, seriously, we shouldn’t be posting every piece of art we create anywhere but our own sites! Facebook is just a tool we use to drive traffic to our real sites… right? …right?

 

And that brings me to my final point. I really don’t care what facebook does with my art, because I can use the exposure. In the end, they can’t duplicate my future works, they can only use what I allow them to use. So… If they start selling a ka-jillion of one of my images, that means a ka-jillion people like what I created, I should probably create more of those, and get them out to the world to buy from ME!

 

In the end, I really don’t see that there is a major downside for me. I love to use facebook as a marketing tool, and I seriously doubt that they are going to change their business model, and become the todd v counterfeit print resource of the world. Who knows I may be wrong, but I’ll take my chances. 

 

peace,
todd
One response

  1. Joe

    the fact that Facebook change their TOS back so quickly is like an admission that they knew they were wrong

    22/02/2009 at 8:41 am

Leave a Reply

